Wohnungen auf Zeit

360°-photography and spherical videos

A quantum leap of effects
Photographic 360°-techniques have by now come to widespread attention. The subject itself is relatively old, but has been considerably promoted through Googles StreetView-project in particular.

Spherical videos have a different basis. The 360°-perspective is not composed of a certain number of pictures anymore. It now has videos as the starting point for the programme-based blending-together of the source material

This approach neatly resolves the two main shortcomings on the photographic level:

1. The 360°-photography allows the user to control the perspective (or line of vision), but it and he remain locked within a circle of static content (or more precisely: in a sphere of static content).

2. The reference frame of a 360°-picture is by definition limited to one position only. This leads not only to the exclusion of moving content, but in particular to not being able to represent the viewer’s own movement (including their changing observational sphere).

Stepping back from a purely analytical viewpoint it is probably better to have an unbiased look at the effects involved. We were very impressed by the spherical videos, because they come very close to actually walking through the rooms in person. It seems we have reached a completely new level in emulating our natural environment.

Does the observer walk trough the apartment him-/herself? Or is it rather that the space observed has learned to walk around? We do not want to exaggerate, however. Even if according to Einstein both perspectives must be very similar indeed.

Moving rooms:
e-rent's spherical videos
The first examples of
spherical videos for apts
Technical background
and e-rent's invention

>
Möblierte Wohnungen

360°-Fotografie und sphärisches Video

Ein Quantensprung der Effekte
Fotografische 360°-Techniken sind mittlerweile wohl jedermann geläufig. Das Sujet ist zwar schon relativ alt. Seine allgemeine Bekanntheit dürfte jedoch vor allem durch Googles StreetView-Projekt erheblich gesteigert worden sein.

Das sphärische Video hat eine andere Grundlage. Die 360°-Perspektive wird hier nicht mehr aus einer bestimmten Anzahl von Fotos zusammengesetzt. Vielmehr dienen hier Videos als Ausgangsmaterial für die programmtechnische Verschmelzung.

Der Kunstgriff beseitigt die beiden Hauptmankos der fotografischen Ebene:

1. 360°-Fotografie erlaubt dem user zwar die Steuerung der Perspektive (bzw. Blickrichtung). Diese bleibt jedoch in einem Kreis von statischen Inhalten gefangen (präzise gesprochen: in einer Kugel von statischen Inhalten)

2. Der Bezugsrahmen einer 360°-Aufnahme ist grundsätzlich standortdefiniert. Damit aber werden nicht nur bewegte Inhalte ausgeblendet. Vor allem die Bewegung des Betrachters selbst (mitsamt der Veränderungen seines Wahrnehmungsraums) kann nicht mehr dargestellt werden.

Dennoch: Besser als alle Analytik ist wahrscheinlich der unbefangene Blick auf die Effekte. Wir waren vom sphärischen Video begeistert, weil es bereits sehr nahe an der realen Raumbegehung liegt. Der Nachbau unserer natürlichen Wahrnehmung hat hier wohl eine völlig neue Stufe erreicht.

Bewegt sich der Betrachter selbst durch die Wohnung? Oder lernten nur die betrachteten Räume zu laufen?

Wir wollen nicht übertreiben. Aber nach Einstein müsste beides sehr ähnlich sein.
Als die Räume laufen lernten:
e-rent's sphärische Videos
Die ersten Beispiele
der Immobilienpräsentation
Technischer Hintergrund
und die Erfindung von e-rent